Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell Books

Sort by [ Popularity | Published | Titles ]

A Dark Nights Work

  [english | 1863]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [A concealed crime and a false accusation of murder.]
Genres: [fictionDownloads: 132


  [english | 1851]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [Cranford is a witty portrait of small town life in early-Victorian England. The story unfolds through the eyes of Mary Smith a young woman who observes the comedic struggles of two middle aged sisters in their efforts to maintain a level of refined dignity amid poverty.]
Genres: [fictionDownloads: 145

Curious If True Strange Tales

  [english | 1859]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [A collection of five spooky Victorian stories.]
Genres: [fiction | ghost | horrorDownloads: 282

My Lady Ludlow

  [english | 1858]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [My Lady Ludlow is a long novella (over 77000 words). It appeared in the magazine Household Words in 1858 and was republished in Round the Sofa in 1859 with framing passages added at the start and end.It recounts the daily lives of the widowed Lady Ludlow of Hanbury and the spinster Miss Galindo and their caring for other single women and girls. It is also concerned with Lady Ludlows man of ...]
Genres: [fictionDownloads: 199

North And South

  [english | 1855]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [South of No North is a collection of short stories by Charles Bukowski the so-called Poet Laureate of Skid Row originally published in 1973 as South of No North: Stories of the Buried Life by John Martins Black Sparrow Press. South of No North also is the name of a play that debuted off-Broadway in 2000 based on nine stories from the book.]
Genres: [fiction | romanceDownloads: 37

Wives And Daughters

  [english | 1864]  

Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell

Summary: [Wives and Daughters is a novel by Elizabeth Gaskell first published in the Cornhill Magazine as a serial from August 1864 to January 1866. When Mrs Gaskell died suddenly in 1865 it was not quite complete and the last section was written by Frederick Greenwood.The story revolves around Molly Gibson only daughter of a widowed doctor living in a provincial English town in the 1830s.]
Genres: [fictionDownloads: 32